Listening to “one in three”

Let’s talk

“The 1 in 3 campaign is a grassroots movement to start a new conversation about abortion …” says the 1 in 3 Campaign web site. There’s more: “Together, we can end the stigma and shame women are made to feel about abortion. As we share our stories we begin to build a culture of compassion, empathy, and support for access to basic health care.”

They gave away the game there, mentioning abortion and “basic health care” in the same paragraph. So much for a new conversation. But I’ll be glad to chime in.

The numbers …

Someone is putting serious money into the 1 in 3 Campaign to sell the idea that lots of women have abortions and have gotten over them just fine.

“One in three” is how many women will have abortions, according to the campaign’s organizing group – Advocates for Youth, “with a sole focus on adolescent reproductive and sexual health.” A realistic figure, perhaps, but unprovable. Abortion advocates have been very successful in preventing public-health data collection on abortion.

Noted abortion absolutist Gloria Steinem was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom this week. She took advantage of the occasion to tell the Washington Post, “Approximately one in three women in this country needs an abortion at some time in her life.” Good echo. A PR campaign needs a good tag line.

Not that I think the actual number of women affected by abortion is trivial. Twenty years ago, whenever I participated in panels and debates about the right to life, I always assumed that if I were speaking to a group of ten women, at least one would be post-abortive. For the last couple of years, I’ve assumed it’s more like one in five. Fifty million abortions since ’73 means a lot of mothers of dead children.

Do I have data and polls? No. I have people in my life who have trusted me with the truth about their lives.

Do the numbers matter? Accurate ones do, because each number represents a person. Several, in fact. Each abortion involves a pregnant woman in some kind of crisis, a child who can’t understand its fate, a man who (if he’s consulted at all) learns to deny fatherhood, a “provider” who gets through the shift by calling what she’s doing “health care.”

That’s a lot of damage.

…and the people behind the numbers

The 1 in 3 people are sure that if women tell their stories, the shock of abortion will wear off and we’ll all see it as “normal.” There will be no “stigma and shame” if only women would talk. And did you catch Steinem’s “needs”? One in three women needs an abortion …

I have some news: women have been talking for a long time.

One in three, four, five, or twenty: even if anyone were counting accurately, what difference would that make to a woman in a crisis pregnancy? It’s one-in-one to her. Sisterhood has to mean more than telling her that her abortion’s no big deal. There are women who have been there, and who have worked to provide abortions to others, who know better than to think the pain and loss and outrage of abortion can be PR’d away. Listen to some of them.

Catherine Adair, from her blog The Harvest Is Abundant:

… I have no idea when my baby would have been born. I never named her/him, it never even occurred to me to do so. When I walked out of that abortion clinic, I never thought about that baby again for years. The happiness I had experienced when I found out I was pregnant was replaced with a bitterness and anger. Anger at those people who kept insisting that abortion was the killing of a child. Didn’t they know it was just a blob of tissue? Why did they think it was a baby?

What I realize now is that in having an abortion, in killing my baby, I lost a piece of my humanity. In order to see the humanity of the child, I would have to admit my own participation in murder. And when everyone you know insists that abortion is a good thing, it is very hard to see otherwise. In fact, this is exactly why pro-abortion people villify pro-lifers the way they do and label us “extremists.”

Georgette Forney, as quoted in feministsforlife.org’s Voices of Women Who Mourn:

AT AGE 16, I found out that I was pregnant, and I had an abortion to hide the truth that I was sexually active. The day after the abortion, I woke up and decided to pretend that the previous day had never happened. After that, I became sexually promiscuous and began smoking pot and sedating myself with alcohol.

At age 32, I realized that I had played God when I aborted my baby, and for the first time, I truly knew that I had taken the life of my baby. But my thoughts stopped there.

At age 34, I got sick and began a time of deep searching and seeking to understand the drive I had to be a perfectionist. One day while cleaning out my basement, I picked up my junior-year yearbook. When I opened it to look at my fellow classmates, I didn’t see them. Instead I felt the weight and physical-ness of my aborted baby in my arms. Immediately, I knew it was the baby I aborted, and I instantly became aware of all I had missed out on in being her mother (yes, it was a baby girl in my arms). No one was more shocked by this experience than I, and I started weeping and crying for what I lost.

At age 35, I went through an abortion recovery program called Forgiven and Set Free. I knew for the first time in my life the real meaning of peace, and I finally forgave myself.

At age 36, I began to consider this issue of abortion from another angle.

At age 38, I got involved in counseling other girls online. That’s when I truly understood the depth of pain experienced by many women, and I knew then that abortion hurts more than it helps and the truth needed to be told.

At age 42, I stand here because, after five years of counseling women who have been hurt by abortion, I can be silent no more. Women deserve better than abortion, and until our sisters are no longer forced to suffer the physical and psychological consequences, I will speak the truth: Abortion hurts women. And if you are hurting, there is help.

We will be Silent No More.
Testimony by Georgette Forney,
Executive Director or NOEL and
Co-founder of Silent No More Awareness Campaign

Shumona Iqbal, a Bangladeshi diplomat working in Canada, from a LifeSiteNews article 11/11/13:

Shumona was then taken for her sonogram, which revealed that she was 8-weeks pregnant – with twins. Following the sonogram another doctor came in to ask her some questions about her family and medical history. “I was secretly hoping that the doctor would ask whether I did want the pregnancy…whether it was my choice or not,” Shumona continued, but to her dismay he never did. She was then taken to a separate room and put under anesthesia. “When I woke up I had excruciating pain in my lower abdomen and it occurred to me that I don’t have my babies anymore.”

When the nurse came in to give Shumona a drink after the procedure, she refused. The nurse then asked her if she wanted to see her husband, and again Shumona refused. “It was the first time in my married life I refused to see my husband,” she said. “It has been seven years since the abortion and I still can’t look my husband in the eyes.”

Jewels Green, as told to Kristen Walker:

There are far too many innocent lives being snuffed out in our country before they have the opportunity to take their first breath, and as a nation we should be doing better. We need to do better. We need to provide real resources to pregnant mothers facing an unplanned pregnancy. The women and babies of our country deserve better. After all, sometimes the best things in life aren’t planned.

Happy Nobirthday, Unbaby. I miss you every day. Love & tears, Mom.

VirtueMedia.org has given a group of post-abortive women the opportunity to record their stories in their own words. As “Donna” says, “I just know this whole thing about choice, about a woman’s right to choose, is not freedom. In the end, it’s not freedom. It’s a prison.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bYsQj0zFzSk

Listen to the women of Project Rachel. Listen to Abby Johnson. Listen to our friends and sisters and daughters and each other.

I think we can love and support each other with something more substantial than the assurance that everybody (or 1 in 3 women, at any rate) has an abortion eventually. There’s no love or mercy or healing in that. A PR campaign can divert the viewer from a post-abortive woman’s child, but can’t undo the reality that the child existed. When it’s normal for the medical trade to peddle abortion as just another service, that’s a “norm” to be overturned. When there’s no “stigma” to destroying an inconvenient life, I’m not sure any of us is safe.

When a woman of great intelligence and influence smoothly slips the words one in three women needs an abortion into her interviews, it’s time to stop short and think about what it means to “need” another human being to stop existing.

Then it’s time to listen to the women who bought the lie and now renounce it.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

