Watch out for “quick fixes”; 40DFL campaign concludes; WMUR story of interest

Affirming life without “quick fixes”

Suggesting that a pregnant woman has to give up her child for adoption to make reparation for premarital sex is no different from the pro-choice mother imposing abortion on her daughter to make reparation for “unprotected sex”. Both attitudes are truly misogynistic and anti-life.

That’s from Béatrice Fodor in 400 Words for Women. In this thought-provoking post, she asks pro-lifers to take a fearless look at their own approach to women experiencing crisis pregnancies. Start your week by reading her short and challenging essay about the “quick-fix mentality.”

Another 40 Days for Life campaign wraps up …

Tune in next spring for the next 40DFL effort in your area. The international director, Shawn Carney, posted in an email this morning that 476 women are known to have chosen life for their children as a result of 40DFL prayer witnesses outside abortion facilities.

I hate seeing metrics used in this context. I hate scorecards and polls about pro-life work, as though standing up publicly for life should depend on whether the numbers keep going up. I understand why someone tracks the figures, though. In a way, those numbers force us to consider the actual women who make up that “476.” Each has her own story. The numbers may also provide a small measure of reassurance to the pro-lifers who ask if their participation makes any difference. Yes, your peaceful and patient witness matters.

Locally in southern New Hampshire, the Greenland and Manchester campaigns ended with special gatherings for the volunteers. My hat’s off to the 40DFL organizers in both places. Bob Melnyk and Jackie McCoy come to mind immediately, but I know there are many other dedicated people who kept the campaigns going. My thanks and respect go out to all of them.

… and there are still opportunities for prayerful witness

To stay up to date with the schedules for peaceful pro-life vigils outside abortion facilities in New Hampshire, the best source I know is NHRTL’s email alert list. You can email info@nhrtl.org and ask to be put on the list.

Tune in Wednesday for WMUR report on human trafficking in NH

I just saw a promotional spot on TV for this, and I’m sorry I have no further information – not even from the WMUR web site! WMUR-TV, the ABC affiliate in Manchester, New Hampshire, is presenting a locally-produced special report this Wednesday, November 6, on the 11 p.m. newscast. The subject: human trafficking in New Hampshire.

I haven’t previewed the report. In fact, I know nothing about it beyond what I saw in the brief promo. I’m pretty sure that I glimpsed Theresa Flores on the screen, as one of the people being interviewed. I have heard her speak about her own nightmarish experience as a victim of trafficking when she was a teenager. It was hard for me to believe that a teenager from a quiet suburb could be coerced into the sex industry without her parents’ knowledge, until I heard Theresa talk about what happened to her.

As a woman and a mother, few things make my skin crawl like realizing other women and other women’s children are caught up in human trafficking today, here in New Hampshire. I’d like to believe such things don’t happen, or if they do, that it’s only in big cities far away. Theresa ripped off my blinders. I’m going to watch WMUR’s report to hear what she and the other people interviewed – including local law enforcement officials – have to say about what’s happening.

I know that earlier special reports are available on the WMUR web site. Perhaps this one will be posted there as well after it airs.

I doubt WMUR’s report covers the nexus between human trafficking and the abortion industry. It’s left to reporters like the brave souls at Live Action to report on that.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

