“Not good enough” (reposted from 400 Words for Women)

More thoughtful ideas from Beatrice Fedor. I recommend her blog, 400 Words for Women. Good stuff!

400 Words for Women

mothers for choice2Cyndi Lauper’s song “The Goonies R good enough” (from the movie The Goonies) goes like this: “What’s good enough for you is good enough for me“.
Many people who identify as pro-choice say: “I would never have an abortion myself but should a woman need one, I support her right to choose abortion.” It sounds like they know that there is something bad about abortion but while it is not good enough for them, abortion must be good enough for somebody else.

I’m pregnant and some pro-choicers recently commented on my Facebook page: “aren’t you glad you have a choice?” They don’t know my abortion history, they don’t know why I write this blog and that I was on “their side” most of my life. But they want to remind me that I have the”option” to destroy my child and I should be thankful for…

View original post 277 more words

Leave a Reply

